Positive Caring Programme

Free local sessions giving carers the opportunity to meet other carers in similar circumstances to gain and share knowledge and information.

Positive Caring Programme

The Positive Caring Programme is open to all adult carers aged 18 and over. Any person who provides substantial care or support for a family member, friend or child with an additional need is welcome to attend. You do not need to be the main carer, nor live with the person for whom you are providing support. A young carer version  “Caring Counts” is also available, delivered in partnership with Gloucestershire Young Carers.

What topics does the programme cover?

  • health and well-being
  • emotions and stress
  • practicalities of caring
  • finance and resources
  • how to access services and support
  • how we juggle caring with other demands.

 

What do the sessions involve?

The sessions are supportive and informal. They are delivered by trained facilitators who are experienced in working in the fields of health and social care as well as having in-depth knowledge of carers’ issues.  Each session provides the opportunity to access information, ask questions, share experiences and gain support to help you tackle some of the specific challenges you may face as a carer.

Where and when are the sessions being delivered?

The programme runs at local venues across the County. The sessions are 2 ½ hours long and usually delivered on a weekly basis. Sessions are delivered during the day and evening. Caring Counts is delivered in school holidays, at weekends and during the early evening.

How can I access the Programme?

Either

 

Current Positive Caring Programme Courses

Information Evening
Introductory Courses (Gloucester)
Stand alone courses (Gloucester)
Stand alone courses (Cheltenham)
For parent carers



Come and join us for a FREE introductory session to meet other unpaid carers and gain support and information around caring.
Time: 6:30pm – 8:30pm
Where: Carers Gloucestershire, Messenger House, 2nd Floor, 35 St Michael’s Square, Gloucester, GL1 1HX.

Pick from one of the dates below and call 01452 5000885 to book.

  • Wed, 4 Jul 2018
  • Wed, 1 Aug 2018

 


INTRODUCTORY COURSES

These FREE weekly courses are encouraged as a first step in the positive caring programme.
Time: 10:00am – 12:30pm
Where: Bellevue Centre, Rheola House, 6 Belle Vue Rd, Cinderford, Gloucestershire, GL14 2AB

DATE Topic
Mon, 2 Jul 2018 Being a carer
Mon, 9 Jul  2018 Day-to-day caring
Mon, 16 Jul 2018 looking after yourself
Mon, 23 Jul 2018 Caring in partnership
Mon, 30 Jul  2018 Caring and resources
Mon, 6 Aug 2018 Next steps

INTRODUCTORY COURSES

These FREE weekly courses are encouraged as a first step in the positive caring programme.
Time: 6:30pm – 9:00pm
Where: Carers Gloucestershire, Messenger House, 2nd Floor, 35 St Michael’s Square, Gloucester, GL1 1HX.

DATE Topic
Wed, 4 Jul/ 1 Aug 2018 Being a carer
Wed, 22 Aug  2018 Day-to-day caring
Wed, 29 Aug  2018 looking after yourself
Wed, 5 Sep 2018 Caring in partnership
Wed, 12 Sep  2018 Caring and resources
Wed, 19 Sep  2018 Next steps

 

 

STAND ALONE COURSES (GLOUCESTER)

You can choose any of these FREE courses you feel are relevant to you.
Time: 10:00am – 1:00pm
Where: Carers Gloucestershire, Messenger House, 2nd Floor, 35 St Michael’s Square, Gloucester, GL1 1HX.

Date Topic
Tue, 12 June 2018 Helping people move safely
Tue, 19 June 2018 Dealing with healh emergencies in the home
Tue, 26 June 2018 Caring for someone with dementia
Tue, 3 July 2018 Promoting continence
Tue, 10 July 2018 Mental Capacity Act

 

STAND ALONE COURSES (CHELTENHAM)

You can choose any of these FREE courses you feel are relevant to you.
Time: 10:00am – 1:00pm
Where: Cheltenham East Community Fire Station, Keynsham Road, Cheltenham, GL53 7PX.

Date Topic
Wed, 13 June 2018 Mental Capacity Act
Wed, 20 June 2018 Dealing with healh emergencies in the home
Wed, 27 June 2018 Promoting continence
Wed, 4 July 2018 Helping people move safely
Wed, 11 July 2018 Caring for someone with dementia

 

 

FOR PARENT CARERS

Do you have a child with additional needs? Come to our FREE series of informal sessions to gain information and support.
Time: 10:30am – 1:00pm
Where: Carers Gloucestershire, Messenger House, 2nd Floor, 35 St Michael’s Square, Gloucester, GL1 1HX.

Date Topic
Fri, 8 June 2018 Being a parent carer
Fri, 15 June 2018 Day-to-day caring
Fri, 22 June 2018 Looking after you and your child
Fri, 29 June 2018 Caring in partnership
Fri, 6 July 2018 Caring and resources
Fri, 13 July 2018 Next steps